Michel Kirch “The origin of light”

The world-renowned star photographer Michel Kirch presents a selection of his award-winning works in Germany for the first time in the GALERIE MESSMER!

Since January 2017, the long list of his international awards has also included the coveted “Best Monochrome Photographer of the Year” award. In March 2017 he won the “32nd Chelsea International Fine Art Competition (Manhattan)” and was awarded the “Creative Quarterly 2017 (Fine Art Professional)” prize. The list could be continued.

The artist, born in 1959 in Metz/France, creates impressive works, some of them monumental in size, that move beyond the conventional criteria of aesthetics. The haunting, almost disturbingly intense photographs immediately cast a spell over the viewer, triggering a veritable flood of emotions.

The main interest of the artist is not the documentation of real existing landscapes. He experiments with the subjective effect that his “inner landscapes, the geographies of the soul” trigger in the viewer.

The greatest and most exciting challenge for Kirch is the construction of a fiction from the building blocks and materials of reality – which he really succeeds in masterfully! He creates poetry from interwoven visual pictorial elements that seem surreal rather than unreal through the alienation of reality.

Kirch composes and constructs cryptic landscapes and partly apocalyptic urban sceneries, which he composes from various of his individual shots. He is always on the lookout for his “own version of reality”, a dream-like, almost mystical place hidden beneath the surface of the visible and tangible.

In this way he creates fantastic worlds full of light and shadow on the border between reality and fiction, in which the often undressed human figures wander about searching like scattered extras or seem to merge with the detailed pictorial ground.

Despite the withdrawn monochromy, Kirch’s works do not appear gloomy, but radiate a great calm and an unmistakable aesthetic. And the artist’s urgent message that “the one, absolute and universally valid reality” no longer exists in our world of digitization and networking.

Michel Kirch „The Origin of Light“

6.Juli – 10. September 2017

L'horizon vertical, 2011, Harman Fine Art Papier auf Dibond unter Diasec   L`horizon vertical, 2011, Harman Fine Art auf Dibond unter Diasec, 100 x 80 cm

Der weltweit gefragte Starfotograf Michel Kirch präsentiert in der GALERIE MESSMER erstmals eine Auswahl seiner preisgekrönten Arbeiten in Deutschland!

Seit Januar 2017 reiht sich in die lange Liste seiner internationalen Auszeichnungen auch der begehrte Preis zum „besten monochromen Fotografen des Jahres“ ein. Im März 2017 gewann er die „32. Chelsea International Fine Art Competition (Manhattan)“ und ist Träger des „Creative Quarterly 2017 (Fine Art Professional)“-Preises. Die Aufzählung ließe sich weiter fortsetzen.

Der 1959 in Metz/Frankreich geborene Künstler kreiert eindrucksvolle Werke von teilweise monumentaler Größe, die sich jenseits der herkömmlichen Bewertungskriterien der Ästhetik bewegen. Die eindringlichen, fast verstörend intensiven Fotografien ziehen den Betrachter augenblicklich in ihren Bann und lösen eine wahre Flut von Emotionen aus.

Das Hauptinteresse des Künstlers liegt nicht in der Dokumentation von real existierenden Landschaften. Er experimentiert mit der subjektiven Wirkung, die seine „inneren Landschaften, die Geographien der Seele“ beim Betrachter auslösen.

Die größte und spannendste Herausforderung für Kirch stellt die Konstruktion einer Fiktion aus den Bausteinen und Materialien der Realität dar – was ihm wirklich meisterhaft gelingt! Er lässt Poesie aus miteinander verwobenen visuellen Bildelementen entstehen, die durch die Verfremdung der Realität nicht unreal, sondern surreal erscheinen.

Kirch komponiert und konstruiert kryptische Landschaften und teilweise apokalyptische urbane Szenerien, die er aus verschiedenen seiner Einzelaufnahmen zusammensetzt. Dabei ist er stets auf der Suche nach seiner „eigenen Version der Realität“, einem traumähnlichen, beinahe mystischen Ort, verborgen unter der Oberfläche des Sichtbaren und Greifbaren.

Er schafft so fantastische Welten voller Licht und Schatten an der Grenze zwischen Realität und Fiktion, in der die oft unbekleideten menschlichen Figuren wie versprengte Statisten suchend umherirren oder mit dem detailreichen Bildgrund zu verschmelzen scheinen.

Trotz der zurückgenommenen Monochromie wirken Kirchs Arbeiten nicht düster, sondern strahlen eine große Ruhe und eine unverwechselbare Ästhetik aus. Und die eindringliche Botschaft des Künstlers, dass es „die eine, absolute und allgemein gültige Realität“ in unserer Welt der Digitalisierung und Vernetzung nicht mehr gibt.

Informationen zum Künstler: www.michelkirch.com